Home > FAQs > What is the difference between the Launch option and Save and Launch option?

MindTouch
Copyright (c) 2006-2014 MindTouch Inc.
http://mindtouch.com

This file and accompanying files are licensed under the MindTouch Master Subscription Agreement (MSA).

At any time, you shall not, directly or indirectly: (i) sublicense, resell, rent, lease, distribute, market, commercialize or otherwise transfer rights or usage to: (a) the Software, (b) any modified version or derivative work of the Software created by you or for you, or (c) MindTouch Open Source (which includes all non-supported versions of MindTouch-developed software), for any purpose including timesharing or service bureau purposes; (ii) remove or alter any copyright, trademark or proprietary notice in the Software; (iii) transfer, use or export the Software in violation of any applicable laws or regulations of any government or governmental agency; (iv) use or run on any of your hardware, or have deployed for use, any production version of MindTouch Open Source; (v) use any of the Support Services, Error corrections, Updates or Upgrades, for the MindTouch Open Source software or for any Server for which Support Services are not then purchased as provided hereunder; or (vi) reverse engineer, decompile or modify any encrypted or encoded portion of the Software.

A complete copy of the MSA is available at http://www.mindtouch.com/msa

What is the difference between the Launch option and Save and Launch option?

Table of Contents
Background Information

When you manually launch or relaunch a Server in the RightScale Dashboard, you will view an inputs confirmation screen, which shows you a list of all the inputs that will be used by the Server's boot and/or decommission scripts when the Server is launched.  Hopefully, values for any required inputs have already been predefined for you prior to you clicking the Launch/Relaunch button and viewing this screen.  Remember, as a best practice all inputs should be defined at the ServerTemplate or Deployment levels.  See Understanding Inputs

The inputs confirmation screen is designed to show you all of the values that will be passed in for each input when the related script(s) is executed during the boot and/or shutdown phase.  Before you can launch a Server you will need to provide values for any missing inputs.  Typically, you will not have to set or change any input values at this time.  However, you do have the flexibility to make modifications to your input settings at the inputs confirmation page prior to actually launching the Server.  If you do make changes to your Inputs, it's important to understand the difference between the two launch options: Launch and Save and Launch.

So, what's the real difference between these two launch options?

 


Answer

Before you can launch a Server you will need to provide values for any missing inputs.

If any inputs that are used by scripts that are automatically executed for you during the boot and decommissioning phases (boot and decommission scripts, respectively), you will need to provide values for each of these inputs.  Any inputs with missing parameter information will be highlighted in red. 

If all of the Input information is correct and you do not need to make any final changes, you can click the Launch button.

However, if you need to either provide missing input information or change one of the input's values, you can either click the Launch or Save and Launch button.  So, what's the difference between these two actions?

screen-Launch_vs_Save_and_Launch-v1.png

  • Launch (Relaunch) - Use this option if you did not make any changes to the Server's inputs or if you made changes to the current Server's input settings that you do not want to be inherited by future server launches.  The specified inputs will be used to launch the current Server only.  Any modified inputs will not be used by future launches of this Server.
  • Save and Launch (Relaunch) - Use this option if you made any modifications to the Inputs and you want to preserve the modified settings (at the Server level) for all future launches of that Server.  Perhaps you provided a value for a missing input or modified the value of a predefined input(s).  With this option, the specified inputs will be used to launch and configure the current Server that's being launched, as well as preserve the modified input settings for all future launches/relaunches of that Server.  Under the "Next" Server you will find that your settings have been preserved.  If you do use the "Save and Launch" option and desire to keep the modified input value(s) for future server launches, it's strongly recommended that you eventually migrate that setting to either the ServerTemplate or Deployment level (and remove it from the Server level) to increase overall input visibility and consistency. 
You must to post a comment.
Last Modified
21:28, 16 May 2013

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

Announcements

None

Glossary | 用語용어 Site Map | Site Help Community Corporate Site Get Support Dashboard Login
Doc Feedback Product Feedback Resources MultiCloud Marketplace Forums

Dashboard Status


© 2006-2014 RightScale, Inc. All rights reserved.
RightScale is a registered trademark of RightScale, Inc. All other products and services may be trademarks or servicemarks of their respective owners.