Note: Please go to docs.rightscale.com to access the current RightScale documentation set. Also, feel free to Chat with us!
Home > Guides > Dashboard Users Guide > Manage > Network Manager > Actions > Networks > View a Network > View a Security Group > Delete a Security Group Rule

Delete a Security Group Rule

Table of Contents

Overview

A security group defines which ports are open to allow incoming or outgoing connections to a server within a network. Security groups essentially act as firewalls in the cloud. They are designed to control who can communicate (i.e., initiate communication) with a server.

Security groups give you a flexible way to restrict server access, allowing you to set restrictions specific to particular protocols, ports, IP addresses, or combinations of these. Permissions defined in a security group are additive in nature; so, if a server has two security groups where one group has port 80 open and the other group has port 80 closed, port 80 will be open (not closed) on the server.

Prerequisites

  • 'security_manager' user role privilege

Steps

  1. Go to Manage > Networks > Select Network > Security Groups tab > Select Security Group.
  2. From the Rules section, select the rule or rules you would like to remove.

 

screen_DeleteaSecurityGroup.png

 

  1. Select Actions and click Delete. A confirmation will display asking if you would like to remove the security group rule or rules.
  2. Click Delete.

 

See also

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
14:34, 8 Jan 2014

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

Announcements

None


© 2006-2014 RightScale, Inc. All rights reserved.
RightScale is a registered trademark of RightScale, Inc. All other products and services may be trademarks or servicemarks of their respective owners.