Note: Please go to to access the current RightScale documentation set. Also, feel free to Chat with us!
Home > Guides > Dashboard Users Guide > Manage > Deployments > Actions > Lock or Unlock a Deployment

Lock or Unlock a Deployment


To lock or unlock Deployment.

Table of Contents


  • An existing Deployment
  • 'actor' user role privileges


When you lock a deployment, you cannot delete the deployment, any of its servers and/or server arrays. However, you will still be able to manage all other aspects of your deployment such as launching or terminating servers, as well as editing server and deployment configurations. If you are defining a mission critical deployment it is recommended that you lock the deployment once it's deployed.

Note: You can also lock a single server.  See Lock or Unlock a Server.


  1. Go to Manage -> Deployments and select a Deployment you wish to lock.
  2. To lock a Deployment, click the "Lock" icon next to the Deployment's name.
  3. To unlock a Deployment, click the "Unlock" icon next to the Deployment's name.
  4. To check and see who last locked/unlocked the Deployment, click on the Deployment's Changes tab.


You must to post a comment.
Last modified
22:46, 16 May 2013



This page has no classifications.



© 2006-2014 RightScale, Inc. All rights reserved.
RightScale is a registered trademark of RightScale, Inc. All other products and services may be trademarks or servicemarks of their respective owners.