Note: Please go to docs.rightscale.com to access the current RightScale documentation set. Also, feel free to Chat with us!
Home > Clouds > Google > Tutorials > Google Volumes > Actions > Delete a Google Volume

Delete a Google Volume

Objective

To delete a detached volume.

Table of Contents

Prerequisites

  • By default, you cannot delete a volume that is currently attached to a running instance. Be sure to detach a volume from the running instance before trying to delete a volume. 
  • Although not technically a prerequisite, before deleting a volume we strongly recommend you create a snapshot as a final backup.

Overview

Although deleting a volume and all its associated data may seem a bit ominous, it isn't if you've been diligent about creating snapshots. The data is what's important, so keeping reliable snapshots in Remote Object Store is the key.

WARNING!
When a volume is deleted, any references to that volume will also be deleted, including any servers that have been configured to attach that particular volume at launch time. As a precautionary step you should also check to see which servers are referencing the volume. 

Steps

  • Go to Clouds > Google > Volumes and select the volume that you want to delete. Under the Servers tab you'll see if the volume is currently attached to a running server or if any other servers are configured to attach the volume at boot time.
  • To delete a volume, go to Clouds > Google >  Volumes and click on a volume's delete action icon.
You must to post a comment.
Last modified
15:34, 8 Dec 2014

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

Announcements

None


© 2006-2014 RightScale, Inc. All rights reserved.
RightScale is a registered trademark of RightScale, Inc. All other products and services may be trademarks or servicemarks of their respective owners.